Congratulations 2018 Appreciation Award Winners

Wow! Thank you to all those who nominated someone for the 2018 Appreciation Awards. From the dozens of nominations that were submitted, it’s clear that Summit County firmly believes in inclusive communities.

There were so many amazing submissions, that it was difficult to narrow them down. We want to take the opportunity to recognize the achievements of these advocates, volunteers, community leaders, and other community partners who are actively helping to build communities that are welcoming for people of every ability.

Appreciation Award Winners

Congratulations to Megan Zimmerman as the Dottie Schrum Culture Award recipient. This award recognizes an outstanding employee from any organization, whose efforts or service have gone above and beyond to make a difference for those with developmental disabilities.

Congratulations to Judge Elinore Marsh Stormer as the Russ Pry Community Leader of the Year Award recipient. This award recognizes a government or business leader in our community who is helping to ensure that communities are more inclusive and that citizens of all abilities have a voice in their community.

Congratulations to John Ballard as the Community Impact Award recipient. This award honors a person (or group) that is making an impact in the community for people with developmental disabilities through innovative programs, volunteerism, advocacy, or awareness efforts.

Congratulations to co-winners Uzziah K. and Travis H. as the recipients for the Carlene Weaver Achievement Award. This award honors an individual with a developmental disability whose actions or self-advocacy has helped to change perceptions or bring about positive awareness for those with developmental disabilities in their community.

We would also like to thank the many nominees who work tireless to improve the lives of individuals with disabilities in Summit County. Including Christi M., Katherine P., Travis D., Krissy B., Trezell W., Darick F., Donald H., Heather Eckenridge, Elise’s Corner, Barb White, Sarah Friebert, MD, Woodridge High School’s Special Education Department, Haylee DeSonne, Autism Society of Greatwer Akron, Darlene Bischoff, Marcus Sabo/Corporate Electric Company, HELP U Shred Program, Ruth Glas/Schwab Retirement Plan Services, Gail Willmott Editor in Chief Kaleidoscope, Mike Firtha, Lee Eisinger/Summit Special Olympics Athletic Club, Rudra Baniya, Jeff Johnson, Jackie Boesinger, Howard Taylor, Jessie Craig, Paula Prentice, and Summit County Executive Ilene Shapiro.

Congratulations to all of our award winners and nominees! Your outstanding efforts are helping to build inclusive communities for people of all abilities. These individuals and organizations will also be recognized at Summit DD’s Appreciation Breakfast and Awards Celebration on Tuesday, March 27th.

Join us in celebrating DD Awareness throughout the month of March!

Leave a Reply

  • Sign Up for our eNewsletter informDD

    Get all the latest news and information delivered right to your inbox! Just down to the blue banner at the bottom of the page and enter your email address. It’s that easy!

© Summit County Developmental Disabilities Board